Asian Studies Faculty

Steven Heine

Steven Heine, Professor and Director

Professor and Director of Asian Studies

Professor of Religious Studies and History

Email: heines@fiu.edu

Mieko Avello

Mieko Avello, Adjunct Instructor

Japanese Language Adjunct Instructor

Email: mavello@fiu.edu

Jhonatan Baez

Jhonatan Baez, Adjunct Instructor

Adjunct Instructor
Japanese Language and Culture

Email: jbaez@fiu.edu

Thomas Breslin

Thomas Breslin, Professor

Professor of International Relations

Department of Politics and International Relations

Email: breslint@fiu.edu

Mitzi Carter

Mitzi Carter, Assistant Teaching Professor

Assistant Teaching Professor

Asian Studies, Global and Sociocultural Studies

Email: mitzi.carter@fiu.edu

SungMin Cho

SungMin Cho, Adjunct Instructor

Adjunct Instructor
Korean Language and Culture

Email: sucho@fiu.edu

Young Rae Choi

Young Rae Choi, Assistant Professor

Assistant Professor

Global and Sociocultural Studies

Email: youngrae.choi@fiu.edu

Ian Cohen

Ian Cohen, Adjunct Instructor

Adjunct Lecturer of Asian Studies

Email: icohen@fiu.edu

Naoko Komura

Naoko Komura, Instructor

Instructor of Japanese Language
Director of Summer Study Abroad Program in Kyoto

Email: komuran@fiu.edu

Masako Kubota

Masako Kubota, Adjunct Instructor

Adjunct Instructor of Asian Studies

Email: mkubo001@fiu.edu

Qing Lai

Qing Lai, Assistant Professor

Assistant Professor

Global and Sociocultural Studies

Email: qlai@fiu.edu

Claudia Lau

Claudia Lau, Adjunct Instructor

Adjunct Instructor of Asian Studies

Email: cllau@fiu.edu

Rachel Levine

Rachel Levine, Adjunct Instructor

Adjunct Instructor of Asian Studies

Email: ralevine@fiu.edu

Marcela Lopez Bravo

Marcela Lopez Bravo, Adjunct Instructor

Adjunct Instructor of Asian Studies

Email: mlopezbr@fiu.edu

Curriculum Vitae.

Li Ma

Li Ma, Senior Instructor

Senior Instructor of Chinese
Coordinator/Director of Study Abroad Program in China

Email: mali@fiu.edu

Matthew Marr

Matthew Marr, Associate Professor

Associate Professor of Sociology

Asian Studies, Global and Sociocultural Studies

Email: mmarr@fiu.edu

Asuka Mashav

Asuka Mashav, Assistant Director of Language; University Instructor

University Instructor of Japanese Language
Assistant Director of Language Programs
Director of Summer Study Abroad Program at APU

Email: mashava@fiu.edu

Eric Messersmith

Eric Messersmith, Assistant Teaching Professor

Assistant Teaching Professor of Asian Studies

Email: messerse@fiu.edu

Elisa Romulo Borges

Elisa Romulo Borges, Adjunct Instructor

Adjunct Instructor of Asian Studies

Email: eromulob@fiu.edu

Shenggao Wang

Shenggao Wang, Instructor of Chinese Language and Culture

Instructor of Chinese Language and Culture

Email: wangsh@fiu.edu