Asian Studies Awardees

Asian Studies is proud to announce that several of our graduate and undergraduate students are recipients of a number of prestigious awards. Congratulations to all awardees!

(Above, left to right: Marcela Lopez Bravo, Franklin Hernandez, Dr. Steven Heine, Victor Bernal, and Rebecca Richko)

Steven J. Green School of International and Public Affairs

  • Award of Best Thesis: Rebecca Richko
  • Graduate Award of Academic Excellence: Marcela Lopez Bravo
  • Award of Academic Excellence: Victor Bernal
  • Award of Service Excellence: Franklin Hernandez

Fu Foundation Scholarship

For more information about this scholarship, please visit our webpage.

  • Graduate Students: David Dayton and Bianca Trifoi
  • Undergraduate Students: Franklin Hernandez, Jadiel Hernandez, Jana Nudelman, and Joshua Seidler

U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarships

For further information about the CLS Program or other exchange programs offered by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please contact and visit our websites at http:/ and

  • Nicole Consuegra, study of Chinese language in Xi'an, China
  • Franklin Hernandez, study of Chinese language in Suzhou, China
  • Ian Iglesias, study of Hindi in Jaipur, India

Chinese Government Scholarship

  • Awarded to Anna Seerey by the Consulate General of the People’s Republic of China in Houston for one- year study abroad in China

Freeman-ASIA Award

  • Awarded to Fabian Perez by Freeman Foundation and the Institute of International Education, for study abroad in China

Japan Exchange and Teaching (JET) Program

For more information, visit their website.

  • Alumni: Luna Azaret
  • Graduate Students: Rebecca Richko and Noelle Rogers
  • Undergradaute Students: Riley Banciella, Vikash Jailal, Virginia Montiel, Dayana Soler, and Pamela Suguimitzu